Edinburgh restaurant applauds angry customer over ‘tasteless tomatoes’


An Edinburgh restaurant has hit back at a customer after receiving a furious one-star review.

Staff at Frizzante Proseccheria have defended their venue after the restaurant took to TripAdvisor to describe their “disappointing” experience.

READ MORE – Furious Edinburgh Costa customer finds ‘no women’s toilet’ in new cafe

Currently sitting at a 4.5/5 star rating on the reviews website, the Italian restaurant is generally inundated with positive and impressive reviews.

However, a customer shared his disappointment with the restaurant after visiting the Lothian Road site last week.

Dissatisfied with nearly every aspect of his experience, the individual slammed the “tasteless tomatoes” as well as the “kitchen slam.”

Giving a one star review, they wrote: “I visited this restaurant today. It was not my first choice, but others were full. First impression – we arrived on time reservation given to us and we were ignored at the door for about ten minutes and then given a table next to the food prep area.

“The tables in the aisle are barely wider than the width of a seat. The food was disappointing. Serving large tasteless unripe tomatoes even in January is unacceptable.

“The menu didn’t seem authentic in any way and the food was no better than I could Russell at home – but the worst part was the noise, the clanking of the kitchen was so loud and unpleasant we couldn’t wait to leave.

Sign up for Edinburgh Live newsletters for more headlines straight to your inbox

“The first attention we received from any member of staff was when we put on our coats to leave when about three members of staff spoke up and wished us a good evening. I’m not criticizing Negatives lightly, but I would welcome this honest review if I was looking for a good restaurant and I’m afraid I can’t recommend it.”

However, Frizzante Proseccheria quickly fired back in defence, with the team leader explaining that the client “could have left at any time” if he was unhappy.

Adding that the surrounding tables near the kitchen had nothing to complain about, the restaurant commented:

“Thank you for your review, sorry you never got into your number one, we did not consider your grievance in the evening, other people sitting in this area had a great time!

“You didn’t have to stay if you didn’t like the table you could have left at any time, we wouldn’t have been offended as we turned away many people at the door who would have loved the table and the ambiance , they as well as a yourself could have had a good night.

“I’m taking it all with a grain of salt, because you were sad enough that you never got your number one next time around.”

Previous (2nd LD) A month before the election, Yoon and Lee neck and neck: polls
Next Effective Online Focus Groups in Data Collection for Low-Income and Minority Populations